ARQ | Alison Rayner Quintet

Alison Rayner (double bass) leads this multi-award winning quintet, which also features guitarist Deirdre Cartwright, both former members of the celebrated 1980’s Latin-jazz group The Guest Stars, alongside Diane McLoughlin (sax), Steve Lodder (keys) and Buster Birch (drums), ARQ play ‘songs without words’, creating a strong sense of narrative and cinematic quality.

Multi award-winning quintet ARQ are widely celebrated from several years of extensive UK and European touring – and critically acclaimed for their three album releases August (2014), A Magic Life (2016) and Short Stories (2019). ‘There is a Crack in Everything’ written by Alison from this album won the 2019 Ivor Novello Composer Award for small ensemble.

A collection of eight perfectly formed originals★★★★ BBC MusicMagazine

Tells its tales through strong melodies, sinewy rhythms and luminous solos, is by turns tender and exuberant…a great album. ★★★★ All About Jazz

ARQ have come up with another impeccable album★★★★1/2